Certified Clinical Perfusionist by The American Board of Cardiovascular Perfusion

Certificate # 920117-0485

Licensed as a clinical perfusionist by the state of Missouri

License # 100019

Licensed as Registered Nurse in Missouri

License # 107167

Excellence in Life Support Award from the Extracorporeal Life Support Organization

2006-2008, 2009-2010 & 2011-2012

Children’s Mercy Hospitals and Clinics was one of the first 7 ECMO programs to receive this international recognition. Perfusion Services of the Department of Cardiovascular Surgery is a primary participant in the ECMO program. The Extracorporeal Life Support Organization (ELSO) is an international consortium of health care professionals and scientists representing 115 ECMO programs worldwide who are dedicated to the development and evaluation of novel therapies for support of failing organ systems. The ELSO “Excellence in Life Support” award was created to recognize and acknowledge extraordinary achievement in the following three categories:

  1. Excellence in promoting the mission, activities, and vision of ELSO
  2. Excellence in patient care by using the highest quality measures, processes, and
  3. And excellence in training, education, collaboration, and communication that structures based upon evidence, supports the ELSO guidelines and contributes to a healing environment.

2015 American Society of Extra-Corporeal Technology (AmSECT) Award of Excellence

The Award of Excellence is presented annually to a perfusionist who demonstrates that work of excellence which best exemplifies creativity and intellectual honesty in perfusion. This award is presented for excellence in any area such as education, continuing education, research, publication or leadership. The person receiving this award must be active in the field of extracorporeal technology and be a member of AmSECT.

2010 American Society of Extra-Corporeal Technology (AmSECT) Research Award

“In recognition of an exceptional article published in the Journal of ExtraCorporeal Technology on an original research project: Grist G, Whittaker C, Merrigan K, Fenton J, Pallotto E, Lofland G. Defining the late implementation of extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO) by identifying increased mortality risk using specific physiologic cut-points in neonatal and pediatric respiratory patients. J Extra Corpor Technol 2009;41(4):213-219”.

2002 American Society of Extra-Corporeal Technology (AmSECT) Perfusionist of the Year

This award which consists of a plaque and a cash prize is presented annually to a perfusionist making a significant contribution to the field of extracorporeal technology. Nominations from the AmSECT membership are submitted to the Awards Committee. From these nominations the AmSECT Board of Directors selects a recipient.

2001 University of Nebraska Medical Center Clinical Perfusion Education

Outstanding Clinical Rotation to Children’s Mercy Hospital 2001: “To the faculty and staff who have provided inspirations towards learning and demonstrated clinical excellence.”

Associate Editor, the Journal of Extra-corporeal Technology


Associate instructor at The School of Cardiopulmonary Perfusion at the University of Nebraska Medical Center

1999-2014 in Omaha, Nebraska. Teaching a class in pediatric perfusion, Oxygen Pressure Field Theory, ECMO and Long-term Perfusion Skills.

Chairman of the Pediatric Perfusion Committee

1997-2004.  Appointed first Chairman of the Pediatric Perfusion Committee of The American Society of Extracorporeal Technology. Remained active on the PPC until 2004.

1995 Recipient of Award for Clinical Excellence in Nursing

The Children’s Mercy Hospital, Kansas City, Mo.

Visiting instructor at The School of Cardiopulmonary Perfusion

1991-1995.  The Heart Institute at St. Vincent Hospital, Portland, Oregon.  Teaching a class in Oxygen Pressure Field Theory, ECMO and Long-term Perfusion Skills.

Perfusion Theory is an educational platform for the Oxygen Pressure Field Theory (OPFT). August Krogh’s theoretical concept of the oxygen pressure field is explained and then applied to clinical applications in perfusion practice.

Associate Editor Needed

Site founder and editor, Gary Grist RN CCP Emeritus, is seeking candidates for the position of Associate Editor for the website Perfusion Theory.

Perfusion Theory is a free, non-commercial, educational website open to anyone worldwide interested in perfusion science and lifestyle. This is a voluntary, uncompensated position requiring about three hours monthly.

The Associate Editor’s primary responsibilities will include working with the Editor to create and curate site content, contributing to the strategy and mission of the site, evaluating submissions to determine suitability, and supporting the Editor in the review process.

No site design skills are necessary. Appointment as the Associate Editor will be on or around 1 April 2023. For additional information or to apply for the position contact garygrist@comcast.net

This will close in 0 seconds

Main Menu